Wednesday, March 13, 2013

Captive Trail Book Review

Captive Trail
Picture Credit

The Captive Trail by Susan Page Davis is the second book in the Texas Trails series. I have read other books in this series and this is my favorite by far.

The Captive Trail is second in a six-book series about four generations of the Morgan family living, fighting, and thriving amidst a turbulent Texas history spanning from 1845 to 1896. Although a series, each book can be read singularly. Taabe Waipu has run away from her Comanche village and is fleeing south in Texas on a horse she stole from a dowry left outside her family's teepee. The horse has an accident and she is left on foot, injured and exhausted. She staggers onto a road near Fort Chadbourne and collapses. On one of the first runs through Texas, Butterfield Overland Mail Company driver Ned Bright carries two Ursuline nuns returning to their mission station. They come across a woman who is nearly dead from exposure and dehydration and take her to the mission.With some detective work, Ned discovers Taabe Waipu is Billie Morgan. He plans to unite her with her family, but the Comanche have other ideas, and the two end up defending the mission station. Through Taabe (Billie) and Ned we learn the true meaning of healing and restoration amid seemingly powerless situations. (Goodreads)

The story starts out with a young nameless girl who has just been captured by Comanche. They call her Taabe and this is her new life. Fast forward years later, she is now a young woman on the run to find her white family. She is found injured by the hero of the story, Ned, and is taken care of by nuns at the mission. Taabe grows immensly during this story and I love all of the details, the characters, and the Indian history. I could not put this book down and the ending is excellent. While the other books about the Morgans have not been my favorite, this one is fantastic. Highly reccomend!

Stop by this site to learn more about the Texas Trails Series

Read more about Susan at her website.

You can read my reveiw for Cowgirl Trail which is another book to this series.

"I received this book for free from Moody Publishers in exchange for an honest review".

No comments: