Wednesday, September 3, 2014

Thief of Glory Book Review



18753630
via

About the Book

In the tradition of Brock and Bodie Thoene's Zion Chronicles and history-meets-contemporary mysteries like those of bestseller Kate Morton, this WWII drama is both exciting in its revelations and heart-rending in its truth about human nature and forgiveness.

In the early 1940s, Jeremiah Prins was a 12-year-old living a content life as the son of a school headmaster in the Dutch East Indies (Indonesia). When Holland declared war on the Japanese in 1941, the situation changed swiftly. The Japanese army invaded, and Jeremiah and his family were placed in a Japanese prisoner-of-war camp-a camp Jeremiah finally escapes and returns to Holland. Yet wartime complications force him to abandon a marriage engagement with Laura Jensen. The young man flees to California, where he struggles with the lingering anger and war stress he faced as a child.

Determined to find some kind of redemption, a now-elderly Jeremiah tries to make sense of his life by journaling of all that he does not want to reveal to his children about his past, intending to leave his writings as an apology after he is gone.

An online encounter puts Jeremiah in touch with his true love from the war years, Laura, and when they meet again, it triggers the time bomb of long-buried secrets. Even seventy years later, if uncovered, these secrets can harm everyone who matters to Jeremiah. (Goodreads)




My Review

Jeremiah Prins' story is a strong and realistic one that reminds us that his story was experienced not long ago. While fiction, this story has many truths to it as the author goes into details on his past and family. This book, while I love the plot and story line and intense moments, it was really slow for me to read. My favorite parts are the details about what life for Jeremiah was like living in a camp with a bunch of people. The bed bugs, the toilets, the pain, and the death. It's really a sad story but I can't imagine going through that and then having that life as your past. The older Jeremiah is interesting to read about because his memories are so strong, how could they not? Laura, who he does end up finding much later in life, was not in the book as much as I thought she would. The ending was not what I was expecting but still good.

I rate this book four stars because of it's depth of detail during the war and what life was like in a Japanese prisoner-of-war camp-a camp.

"I received this book from Blogging for Books for free in exchange for an honest review."









No comments:

Post a Comment