Wednesday, August 29, 2018

Ours For A Season Review



 37703553

 About the Book 


An Old Order Mennonite couple's vows and beliefs are challenged in this stirring contemporary novel for fans of Cindy Woodsmall or Shelley Shepherd Gray.

Anthony and Marty Hirschler are part of an Old Order Mennonite community in Pine Hill, Indiana. The couple has grown apart since a doctor confirmed they would never have children. Marty longs to escape the tight-knit area where large families are valued, and the opportunity to do so arises when her childhood friend, Brooke Spalding, resurfaces with the wild idea of rebuilding a ghost town into a resort community. Brooke hires Anthony to help with the construction, drawing the Hirschlers away from Indiana and into her plan, and then finds herself diagnosed with cancer. Moral complications with Brooke's vision for a casino as part of the resort and the discovery of a runaway teenager hiding on the property open up a world neither the Hirschlers nor Brooke had considered before. Will they be able to overcome their challenges and differences to help the ones among them hurting the most? (Goodreads)

My Thoughts

I have mixed feelings after reading this book. I never know where Sawyer is going to go in her stories and this book had good and not great. I really enjoyed Brooke's story and her character. I thought that part of the book was well written. When it comes to Marty I simply had a difficult time. I truly didn't like her character. I thought perhaps I would at the end, as that often happens in books, but I just never could get to enjoy her at all. I thought there was good character development but Marty really made this book difficult to love. Also, while I like how the latter part of the book took a different turn, it didn't seem to flow with everything else. It just seemed rushed. Anywho all that to say Sawyer really is a gifted author this book simply wasn't my favorite. 
Three Stars.

"I received this book from the publisher for free. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions are my own."











No comments:

Post a Comment