Monday, December 11, 2017

No One Ever Asked Review


35673517

About the Book

Challenging perceptions of discrimination and prejudice, this emotionally resonant drama for readers of Lisa Wingate and Jodi Picoult explores three different women navigating challenges in a changing school district--and in their lives.

When an impoverished school district loses its accreditation and the affluent community of Crystal Ridge has no choice but to open their school doors, the lives of three very different women converge: Camille Gray--the wife of an executive, mother of three, long-standing PTA chairwoman and champion fundraiser--faced with a shocking discovery that threatens to tear her picture-perfect world apart at the seams. Jen Covington, the career nurse whose long, painful journey to motherhood finally resulted in adoption but she is struggling with a happily-ever-after so much harder than she anticipated. Twenty-two-year-old Anaya Jones--the first woman in her family to graduate college and a brand new teacher at Crystal Ridge's top elementary school, unprepared for the powder-keg situation she's stepped into. Tensions rise within and without, culminating in an unforeseen event that impacts them all. This story explores the implicit biases impacting American society, and asks the ultimate question: What does it mean to be human? Why are we so quick to put labels on each other and categorize people as "this" or "that", when such complexity exists in each person? (Goodreads)



My Thoughts

I have loved all of Katie's books and have been anticipating this novel for awhile! This book is SO good but also SO heavy. Get ready to feel and at times feel uncomfortable. Katie did an excellent job in writing current situations and difficulties not just in a school district but what goes on in our homes. Now I will add that there isn't much about religion or a relationship with God. While I didn't mind, I was a tad surprised to find not much about God in the book. I think much of this is in between the pages. This story reminded me a lot of perhaps a Jodi Picoult novel or the like. After reading all of Katie's books I would say this one is the most different and I think books like this are needed in a Christian market. My favorite part of the book is the story line following Jen Covington and her adoption of a little girl. I liked reading her side of the story and it really added to the book. So of course, Katie has done it again with a five star read!
Five stars. 
 Look for it in stores April 2018!


"I received this book from Blogging for Books for free. All opinions are my own."









No comments:

Post a Comment